Lasagna Garden

Yep, I’m going to talk about dirt today.  One of the things on my bucket list is to successfully grow a vegetable garden.  I wanted to start it last year, but I didn’t get to it in time.  So, last year I started by making a compost pile.  That’s what’s in the wheelbarrow.  I had to take a picture of it since I made that dirt myself.  From my kitchen and my lawn.  It’s the simple things sometimes.

Last week we had a all-to-brief day of semi-nice weather so I thought we’d layer our garden.  We began by laying down some cardboard where I plan to plant.  Then we covered it with dead leaves, followed by cut grass and finally topped it off with my pretty compost.

I probably need more compost but this is all I had for the moment.  The good news is it prompted me to begin composting again.  Carrying mucky stuff out to the compost pile just didn’t happen during the winter.  Sorry to say.

If you’re interested, Google Lasagna Gardening Method and you can start a garden too!  It’s one way to make sure there are no GMOs in your food.  And it’s a lot less expensive than buying organic.  And it’s a great family project.  (At least that’s what they tell me.)

I am officially ready for spring now.  And dirt.  And vegetables.

One thought on “Lasagna Garden

Leave a Reply

