Math Monday – Password

Over the weekend I was blessed to attend a workshop with some other local moms to prepare for our children’s participation in Classical Conversations Essentials this fall.  It was a video series by the Institute for Excellence in Writing.  What does that have to do with math?  Not much really.  But!  Andrew Pudewa mentioned the idea of using a password for teachers.  A password to reflect that the student had studied the information assigned in order to maybe gain a hall pass to go to the bathroom or perhaps re-enter the classroom after lunch.  I thought, “hey, I could use that at my house!”

I’m not sure how this will work entirely, but my plan is to have the password of the day.  For example, tomorrow’s password will be 3×3=9.  My children will have to say that to me each time they get a snack, are allowed in the car, or are granted access to a privilege.  My hope is that by focusing on one fact a day, by the end of the year they will have a better grasp on their material.  Obviously, this tip could be used with any subject that you are working with.  At my house, my current main focus is math.

On another fun note, we have a new member of our family!  This is Bogey, our three month old Morkie (Maltese/Yorkie mix).

One thought on “Math Monday – Password

Leave a Reply

