Bookplates as a gift

Yesterday I was watching this video from Papertrey Ink about making a gift of bookplates. It reminded me that the last time I visited my mother-in-law she mentioned that she is forever loaning out books and not getting them back.

Since we are going to see them tonight, I thought I’d whip some up for her. However, I don’t own any of the fun products used in that video. So I created my own bookplates using what I have on hand.

First I typed up my words in Word. Printed them on printer paper and made sure they fit within the stamps I own. Then I printed them on Stampin Up White Cardstock. I pulled out my old giant Xyron and added repositionable adhesive to the back of the entire sheet.

Since my Stampin Up images I was using were not clear, I used my Stamp-a-majig to get my placement right. Then I used my Framelits Labels collection to cut out the big bookplates and the “for you” on the front of the crayon box. Additionally, I used my Decorative Label punch for all of the smaller ones. The stamp sets I used were Apothecary Art and Four Frames.

Eventually, I had to figure out how to package them. So, I used the Crayon Box on my Tags,Bags, Boxes & More Cricut Cartridge at 5 inches with Real Dial size turned on. (I have no idea if that made any difference in the final size.)

I covered the front with paper from a boxed collection from K & Company. It only declares that it is “150 Classic Papers” and gives code 524446.

I hope she likes it!

The gift has 23 bookplates in it. It would have been 24 with six of each style but I messed up royally stamping one of the large Apothecary Art images.

Leave a comment